Permanent Partial Disability or Temporary Total Disability
If you were seriously injured or ill and have received 104 weeks (2 years) of workers’ compensation payments, the workers’ comp insurer will assume you have achieved maximum medical improvement (MMI) and petition for a physical impairment rating.
You will be asked to attend an Impairment Rating Evaluation (IRE) where a doctor will assess your condition and assign you a percentage rating and a classification: permanent partial disability or temporary total disability.
- If your impairment rating shows a physical impairment of less than 50 percent, you are limited to 500 weeks of workers comp benefits from the date of your injury or diagnosis.
- If your impairment rating is more than 50 percent, you are classified as having a temporary total disability and your benefits are unlimited.
If the insurer is saying you have reached maximum medical improvement but you believe that is not true, or if you think your disability evaluation rating is too low, contact the work comp attorneys at Woomer & Hall. We focus on RESULTS for injured workers throughout western Pennsylvania and northern West Virginia.
$317,000: Workers’ compensation claimant settled case in which she lost 75 percent of her hearing and was disfigured in a work place accident
Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) benefits are paid if you are not totally disabled, or if you can return to work on light duty or part-time. Wage loss benefits are approximately 2/3 of your average weekly wages. If you can work but are earning less money than before, your wage loss benefits will be a percentage of the difference between your previous wages and your current wages.
It is possible for your disability rating to be upgraded or downgraded during the 500 weeks you are receiving benefits. Your condition may improve and your benefits will end or your condition may not improve and you may be re-evaluated as having a temporary total disability.
Temporary Total Disability (TTD) benefits are paid to those workers who cannot return to any type of employment until they recover from their injuries. TTD benefits can last indefinitely and begin one week from the date you were last able to work.
Do you need to attend the disability evaluation? If the insurance company files a petition within 98 weeks of the date of your injury, you must attend the disability evaluation. However, if the petition is made after 104 weeks, the insurer has missed the deadline for filing a request and you do not need to attend the exam. Please note, if you do not attend, then whatever rating you receive will be accepted.
If you have questions about the disability evaluation, the workers’ compensation lawyers at Woomer & Hall have answers. We are aggressive advocates dedicated to protecting injured workers. Contact our law office or call 1-800-686-0848. Your initial consultation is free. We charge no attorneys’ fees or costs of any kind unless we recover compensation for you.
* Case results are for informational purposes only, and should not be considered as a guarantee or prediction of outcome in any other case. Every case involves different facts and circumstances, and a favorable result in one case is not a guarantee that a similar result can be obtained in another case.